top of page
Search
  • jayrig02

Blog Post #6

At the moment, I want to major in data science. I have always liked gathering information about people, and the field offers great opportunities to effectively spy on people. The market is only getting bigger as political campaigns now look for ways to manipulate data to spread their messages, and getting to work on creating Facebook ads that target the vulnerable in order to politically radicalize them sounds wonderful! My heroes in the field are Cambridge Analytical and ShareBlue; you should check them out :)


A specific hero I look up to is Matt Oczkowski. He is a data scientist who is currently president of HuMn Behavior, a firm that did the data analysis for an important political campaign in 2016. He graduated form James Madison University with a double major in computer science and political science, which he has combined to create computer networks that manipulate political opinion. In five words I would describe this fellow as: manipulative, vile, immoral, intelligent, and creative. I chose to look at him due to his relative obscurity. Despite having a major role in electing the current president, he has almost no notoriety, and I wanted at least one more person to know of him. I like his use of data to make changes in society, but hate the side he has chosen to fall on. Here is his LinkIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/matt-oczkowski-4b529420/



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post #6

So far, our largest problem has been narrowing our issue to one that can be solved by a project of our scope. Initially we looked to fix a system that has been near perfected, triage, and quickly foun

Blog Post 5

Second semester is exciting. I finally get to find out what colleges I am worthy of being admitted to, which is either going to be pretty great or pretty crushing. I have the privilege of being able t

Blog Post #3

https://www.nasa.gov/feature/ames/quantum-supremacy A recent test in quantum computing showed that prototypes of quantum computers could out do a NASA super computer at certain processes. These consis

bottom of page